Latest Public Sector News


Applications now open for this year’s National Apprenticeship Awards

This year’s National Apprenticeship Awards, which seeks to reflect the quality of apprenticeships across all sectors, is now open for entries.

The fifteenth iteration of the successful event, led by the National Apprenticeship Service, features new categories such as Recruitment Excellence, which will recognise employers who attracted a diverse and high-quality workforce in more innovative ways.

One lucky winner will also receive a Recognition Award, which will reward an individual who has made a special contribution to the promotion and delivery of apprenticeships.

Separately, employers will be able to nominate apprentices for the Rising Star category in order to highlight their impressive career progress to date. At the national stage of the awards, the public will be invited to vote on the overall winner for this specific category.

Several other changes have also been made after consultation with leading organisations. For example, the refreshed 2018 edition will showcase company excellence in widening access to, and championing, apprenticeships, as well as celebrating this particular career path to the top.

Previous winners have spoken about the importance of receiving an accolade in the government-backed awards ceremony. Charlotte Hughes, GSK employee and winner of last year’s Higher or Degree Apprentice of the Year, said: “I am extremely proud to have been a winner at the National Apprenticeship Awards. It’s provided a huge boost to my confidence and has helped raise my profile within and outside my organisation.

“Everyone is really proud of my achievement and many opportunities have opened up due to winning.”

She added that the whole process made her realise what she’s “truly capable of” and encouraged all eligible people to apply.

Those eligible include any apprentice employers and apprentices from all industries. Entrants will be judged by a panel of experts in order to be crowned a regional winner at nine award ceremonies set to take place nationwide. From the regional winners, a national judging panel will then choose the overall winners, who will be invited to a national ceremony on 28 November this year.

To apply, visit the dedicated website. The deadline for entries if 25 May.


There are no comments. Why not be the first?

Add your comment

public sector executive tv

more videos >

last word

Prevention: Investing for the future

Prevention: Investing for the future

Rob Whiteman, CEO at the Chartered Institute of Public Finance (CIPFA), discusses the benefits of long-term preventative investment. Rising demand, reducing resource – this has been the r more > more last word articles >

public sector focus

View all News


Peter Kyle MP: It’s time to say thank you this Public Service Day

21/06/2019Peter Kyle MP: It’s time to say thank you this Public Service Day

Taking time to say thank you is one of the hidden pillars of a society. Bei... more >
How community-led initiatives can help save the housing shortage

19/06/2019How community-led initiatives can help save the housing shortage

Tom Chance, director at the National Community Land Trust Network, argues t... more >


Artificial intelligence: the devil is in the data

17/12/2018Artificial intelligence: the devil is in the data

It’s no secret that the public sector and its service providers need ... more >