Latest Public Sector News


Shadow local gov minister promises to ‘shift power from few to the many’

The Oldham MP Jim McMahon has been appointed as the new shadow minister for local government and devolution.

The shadow cabinet was hit by mass resignations following the EU referendum, but Labour leader Jeremy Corbyn announced the new reshuffle after defeating an electoral challenge to his leadership.

McMahon, the former leader of Oldham council, won a by-election in the town last December in what was widely seen as the first test of Corbyn’s leadership.

In a statement on Twitter, he said: “I’m a champion of local government and strongly believe that our councils need a strong voice not just to defend them against Tory cuts, but to offer a positive vision for devolution.

“The next few months and years will be testing for our councils and I want to put into practice my own experience as a councillor of 13 years and as council leader and leader of Labour local government.

“I want to work with our council leader and front bench to develop Labour’s vision to shift power from the few to the many.”

The news comes following the resignation of Lord O’Neill as the devolution minister.

Theresa May’s government has been criticised for its management of devolution, with the Local Government Information Unit accusing it last week of “going walkabout” on the issue at the Conservative Party Conference.

Communities and local government minister Sajid Javid withdrew the north east devolution offer after it was rejected by local councils, and May is rumoured to be considering abolishing the requirement for elected mayors to avoid gathering support for Labour.

However, Labour has created four separate local government roles in the new shadow cabinet in an apparent sign of support for the sector.

Gareth Thomas and Kate Hollern have both been appointed as shadow ministers for communities and local government, whilst Roberta Blackman-Woods is shadow minister for local government and housing.

Labour has also appointed three separate shadow ministers for Brexit: Paul Bloomfield, Jenny Chapman and Matthew Pennycock.

One of May’s first moves as prime minister was to make David Davis the first secretary for exiting the European Union.

In addition, Diane Abbott has been made shadow home secretary, with Jonathan Ashworth replacing her as shadow health secretary, Baroness Shami Chakrabati has become shadow attorney general, and Pat Glass has become shadow minister for transport.

Have you got a story to tell? Would you like to become a PSE columnist? If so, click here.


There are no comments. Why not be the first?

Add your comment

public sector executive tv

more videos >

last word

Prevention: Investing for the future

Prevention: Investing for the future

Rob Whiteman, CEO at the Chartered Institute of Public Finance (CIPFA), discusses the benefits of long-term preventative investment. Rising demand, reducing resource – this has been the r more > more last word articles >

public sector focus

View all News


Peter Kyle MP: It’s time to say thank you this Public Service Day

21/06/2019Peter Kyle MP: It’s time to say thank you this Public Service Day

Taking time to say thank you is one of the hidden pillars of a society. Bei... more >
How community-led initiatives can help save the housing shortage

19/06/2019How community-led initiatives can help save the housing shortage

Tom Chance, director at the National Community Land Trust Network, argues t... more >


Artificial intelligence: the devil is in the data

17/12/2018Artificial intelligence: the devil is in the data

It’s no secret that the public sector and its service providers need ... more >