Latest Public Sector News


LGA chair Gary Porter made a Lord

Cllr Gary Porter, chair of the Local Government Association (LGA), has been made a peer in the dissolution peerages list following the last general election.

He is a long-serving councillor on South Holland District Council, and has been leader since 2003.

Porter, who is the first councillor to chair both the LGA and the Conservative Councillors Association, said: “I’m clearly proud to receive this recognition. But while it may be me that is receiving this honour, it’s really a testament to the hard work of colleagues in South Holland District Council, the LGA and those across local government who day in and day out dedicate their working lives to making our communities better places.

“I will strive to be a strong voice and keen advocate for local government in the House of Lords. And those who know me and think this may change me can rest assured that I’ll still just be Gary.”

It has not yet been decided what his full title will be.

Other recent chairs of the LGA – including Dame Margaret Eaton and Sir Sandy Bruce-Lockhart – have also been members of the House of Lords.

Other nominations for peerage include:


  • James Arbuthnot – former MP for North East Hampshire and Front Bench Minister
  • Rt Hon Gregory Barker – former MP for Bexhill and Battle and former Minister of State at the Department for Energy and Climate Change
  • Catherine Fall – Deputy Chief of Staff to the Prime Minister
  • Simone Finn – Special Adviser to the Minister of State for Trade
  • Stephen Gilbert – Deputy Chairman of the Conservative Party
  • Rt Hon William Hague – former MP for Richmond and former Foreign Secretary
  • Robert Hayward OBE – former MP for Kingswood, Board Member of Dignity in Dying and Trustee for the YMCA
  • Rt Hon Douglas Hogg QC – former MP for Sleaford and North Hykeham and held several ministerial roles
  • Rt Hon Andrew Lansley CBE – former MP for South Cambridgeshire and former Cabinet Minister
  • James Lupton CBE – Chairman of Greenhill Europe and former Co-Treasurer of the Conservative Party
  • Ruby McGregor-Smith CBECEO of Mitie Group PLC
  • Anne McIntosh – former MP for Thirsk and Malton and Chairman of the Environment, Food and Rural Affairs Select Committee
  • Michelle Mone OBE – leading entrepreneur and sits on the Board of Directors for The Prince’s Scottish Youth Business Trust
  • James O’Shaughnessy – Managing Director of Floreat Education
  • Emma Pidding CBE – former Chiltern District Councillor and former Chairman of the National Conservative Convention
  • Stuart Polak CBE – Director of the Conservative Friends of Israel
  • Councillor Gary Porter – Councillor for South Holland District Council and Chairman of the Local Government Association
  • Councillor Elizabeth Redfern – Leader of North Lincolnshire Council
  • Rt Hon Andrew Robathan – former MP for South Leicestershire and several Front Bench and government roles
  • Kate Rock – Vice-Chairman of the Conservative Party
  • Councillor Jane Scott OBE – Leader of the Wiltshire Council
  • Kevin Shinkwin – longstanding voluntary sector professional
  • Philip Smith CBE – Chief Executive of the Association of Conservative Clubs
  • Philippa Stroud – Special Adviser to the Secretary of State for Work and Pensions
  • Rt Hon David Willetts – former MP for Havant and several Front Bench roles
  • Rt Hon Sir George Young Bt CH – former MP for North West Hampshire and former Cabinet Minister

Liberal Democrat

  • Sir Alan Beith – former MP for Berwick-upon-Tweed and former Chair of the Justice Select Committee
  • Sharon Bowles – former MEP for South East England
  • Sir Malcolm Bruce – former MP for Gordon, and former Deputy Leader of the Liberal Democrats
  • Lorely Burt – former MP for Solihull and former Chair of the Liberal Democrats
  • Rt Hon Sir Menzies ‘Ming’ Campbell CH, CBE, QC – former MP for North East Fife and former Leader of the Liberal Democrats
  • Lynne Featherstone – former MP for Hornsey and Wood Green and held several ministerial positions
  • Don Foster - former MP for Bath and former Liberal Democrat Chief Whip
  • Jonny Oates – former Chief of Staff to the Deputy Prime Minister in the coalition government
  • Shas Sheehan – former Councillor for Kew and involved in several community groups
  • Sir Andrew Stunell – former MP for Hazel Grove and former Department for Communities and Local Government Minister
  • Dorothy Thornhill MBE – Mayor of Watford; former Councillor and Assistant Headteacher


  • Rt Hon David Blunkett – former MP for Sheffield Brightside and Hillsborough and former Cabinet Minister
  • Rt Hon Alistair Darling – former MP for Edinburgh South West and former Cabinet Minister
  • Rt Hon Peter Hain – former MP for Neath and former Cabinet Minister
  • Rt Hon Tessa Jowell DBE – former MP for Dulwich and West Norwood and former Cabinet Minister
  • Spencer Livermore – senior Campaign Strategist for the Labour Party
  • Paul Murphy – former MP for Torfaen and former Cabinet Minister
  • Rt Hon Dawn Primarolo DBE – former MP for Bristol South and former Minister
  • Dave Watts – former MP for St Helens North and former Chair of Parliamentary Labour Party


Zippy   27/08/2015 at 22:16

Well there is hope for us all if this idiot can get a peerage

Michael Foulston   17/12/2015 at 21:44

Impressive list of nominees - but why none from UKIP (the party that won most seats in the European Parliament election in 2014 and polled 3·8 million votes in the General Election). Suzanne Evans, Diane James and others would be impressive additions to the House of Lords.

Alec Dunn   10/07/2016 at 15:09

Can anyone help me? I would like to send an email to Councillor Porter. Can you provide his email address?

Add your comment



public sector executive tv

more videos >

last word

The importance of openness after Grenfell

The importance of openness after Grenfell

Following the recent Grenfell Tower tragedy, Lord Porter, chairman of the LGA, argues that if the public are going to have faith in the safety testing process then everything must be out in the open more > more last word articles >

public sector focus

View all News


The digital buying community is live

12/11/2018The digital buying community is live

Many of the requirements from buyers posted on the Digital Marketplace were... more >
A force to be reckoned with

12/11/2018A force to be reckoned with

The South Bank plan, which refers to a number of investments and proposed a... more >


New Dorset Councils CEO on the creation of a new unitary: ‘This is going to be the right decision for Dorset’

05/11/2018New Dorset Councils CEO on the creation of a new unitary: ‘This is going to be the right decision for Dorset’

The new chief executive of one of the new unitary authorities in Dorset has... more >

the raven's daily blog

Blog: 5 minutes with Gary Wallis-Clarke, member of the Northern Powerhouse Education and Skills Group

12/12/2018Blog: 5 minutes with Gary Wallis-Clarke, member of the Northern Powerhouse Education and Skills Group

Ahead of the upcoming networking extravaganza EvoNorth, we caught up with Gary Wallis-Clarke, a member of the Northern Powerhouse Education and Skills group, executive he... more >
read more blog posts from 'the raven' >

editor's comment

25/10/2017Take a moment to celebrate

Devolution, restructuring and widespread service reform: from a journalist’s perspective, it’s never been a more exciting time to report on the public sector. That’s why I could not be more thrilled to be taking over the reins at PSE at this key juncture. There could not be a feature that more perfectly encapsulates this feeling of imminent change than the article James Palmer, mayor of Cambridgeshire and Peterborough, has penned for us on p28. In it, he highlights... read more >